FIRST Future Innovator Award sponsored by the Abbott Fund

This award celebrates innovation and intellectual property creation inspired by the FIRST season experience.  This award recognizes creativity in effectively solving a real-world, complex problem through the invention of a unique solution beyond the requirements of the FIRST competition season and events. This award directly links to the FIRST mission to inspire young people to be science and technology leaders that inspire innovation and to the FIRST vision to transform the culture by creating a world where science and technology are celebrated.

The FIRST Future Innovator Award will be judged by a panel of leading experts in the fields of engineering and patent law, including Dean Kamen, President of DEKA Research & Development Corporation and inventor of the Segway Personal Transporter, and representatives from Abbott and others, to determine the winning idea.

The winner will be announced at the FIRST Championship in St. Louis, Missouri, April 24-27, 2013.  The winning students will be granted an award presented by the Abbott Fund and also will have the opportunity to meet with a venture capitalist firm for a real-world experience to discuss their invention and possible business application.

The FIRST Future Innovator Award competition is open to all North American FRC and FTC teams officially registered for the current 2012-2013 FIRST competition season. The portal for student submissions opened November 8, 2012 and the deadline for submissions will be Noon EST, February 21, 2013.

To learn more about this award, visit the full award page.